The default setting for assignment grading is for a notification email to be sent to the student to alert them to completed marking (eg grades, comments, response files added). It is possible to switch off the email alerts while you are marking. Where these alerts are disabled depends on which marking method you choose to use:
- If you click on Grade against an individual student's assignment submission you are taken to a screen 'Feedback: student name' where you can add grade, comment, response file for that particular student.
- If you do not want the student to be notified of marking, untick the Send notifications option before clicking on Save.
Quick Grading Screen
- If you decide to use Quick Grading you can give a grade and comment for all students from one page.
- To switch on Quick grading tick the 'Allow quick grading' box in the optional settings at the bottom of the page and Save preferences.
- If you do not want students to be notified of marking, untick the Send notifications option on the left at the bottom of the list of student names. You may need to untick this option each time you use Quick Grading.