Child pages
  • SWERN - The Company
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Company

The South West England Regional Network connects the Universities of Plymouth, Exeter, Bristol, Bath, Gloucestershire and the West of England and provides connections for other South West HEIs and some 40+ FE Colleges. SWERN serves approximately 450,000 users.

SWERN was created in 2002 in order to provide services most efficiently and economically across the whole of the South West. The networks of SWAN and BWEMAN merged to form the South West England Regional Network (SWERN), a company limited by guarantee. SWERN has formed a contractual relationship with Janet UK (JUK) to operate the regional network that connects sites to the SuperJANET backbone.

SWERN is owned and operated by its member institutions. From the Board of Directors to the User Group all members of SWERN are taken from the institutions connecting to it.


Registered office and contact point for the Board

SOUTH WEST ENGLAND REGIONAL NETWORK LIMITED
Office of the University Secretary,
University of Bath,
Claverton Down,
Bath. BA2 7AY.
Company Number: 4488514
VAT Number: 798 0302 11

Tel: 01225 385398
Fax: 01225 386709
Email: M.P.Pender@bath.ac.uk


The People

Our Board of Directors

  • Avalable on request from our company secretary

Other People

Mark Pender
Job title:Company Secretary
Email: M.P.Pender@bath.ac.uk
University of Bath

Tim Phillips
Job title:Chair - PPC
Email: Tim.Phillips@bristol.ac.uk
University of Bristol

Ian Sugden
Job title:Business Manager
Email: Ian.Sugden@plymouth.ac.uk
University of Plymouth

Keith Simpkin
Job title:Network Engineer
Email: engineering@swern.net.uk
University of the West of England

Neil Francis
Job title:Network Manager / Network Engineer
Email: engineering@swern.net.uk
University of Bath

Hugh Street
Job title:Network Manager
Email: swern.man@swern.net.uk

James Long
Job title:Network Operator
Email: James.long@plymouth.ac.uk
University of Plymouth

Hazel Hockings
Job title:Accounts Manager
Email: h.hockings@plymouth.ac.uk
University of Plymouth

Lorna Bays
Job Title:  Assistant Business Manager and Admin Support
E.mail: lorna.bays@swern.ja.net

  • No labels