The wiki is now available again. However, some recent changes may not have been restored.
Please see Computing Services' blog post for more details
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Locked, publish in progress
blue text = new
red text = changed
black text = unchanged

An unpublished file

When to lock a file

When you close the window using the black close button, the file remains locked until it is published. 

You only need to lock a file if you are planning to work on it later, and don't want anyone else to edit it in the meantime.

How to lock a file

Right- or left-click on the file or folder and select "Lock"

How to unlock a file

 Right- or left-click on the file or folder and select "Unlock".



You can also use the File unlocking tool in Admin view.

Finding files that others have locked

You can find out which resources are locked by right- or left-clicking on a folder and selecting "Locked resources".  This will give you a list of the locked files in that folder.

You can also use the File unlocking tool in Admin view.

Steal lock

If someone else has left a file locked and you are sure that they have finished with it, you can steal the lock and then unlock it.

Right- or left-click on the file icon and select 'steal lock'.

Closing files properly so that the backup file gets deleted

Always use the black close-button that is part of the editor, not the red one that is part of the window - clicking the black button will delete the temporary backup file created by OpenCMS.  The main file will be unlocked for others to edit when it has been published - so if you want someone else to be able to edit it, remeber to unlock it manually.

Unable to render {include} The included page could not be found.